>Reading plan, Journaling

>

Listening to: “Everything About You” by: Chip Greene
Currently Reading: Praise Habit by: David Crowder (reread)
Alright, I am starting a journaling plan this week and I want to see if anyone would like to join me.  I’m using a bible reading plan from the ESV (English Standard Version) bible that I really enjoy. (I also love ready the Message bible, but for this reading plan I’m going to use the ESV. The reading plan is found right online so it’s easy to get.  You can get it HERE.  
It’s called Everyday In the Word.  My plan is to journal my thoughts after the days reading.  The idea I got from Scott Longyear.  He’s a pastor up north.   The following is taken from Scott’s church’s website on Journaling.
– One way to do your devotions is to follow the simple acronym, S.O.A.P. which stands for Scripture, Observation, Application, and Prayer.
S for Scripture
Open your bible or read today’s reading online.  Take time reading and allow God speak to you. Highlight, underline or place a mark in the margin of your bible, next to the scripture that stands out.  When you are done, reread the verses you marked, look for the one that particularly spoke to you that day and write it in your journal.   (I’m using a journal on my lap top)  Helpful hint.  If you have trouble understanding what you’ve read, you may find a study bible useful.  (I have a box of new study bibles in my office if anyone needs one…for free)
O for Observation: 
What do you think God is saying to you in this scripture?  Ask the Holy spirit to teach you and reveal Jesus to you.  Paraphrase and write this scripture down in your own words, in your journal.
A for Application: 
Personalize what you have read, by asking yourself how it applies to your life right now. Perhaps it is the instruction, encouragement, revelation of a new promise, or corrections for a particular area in your life.   Write how this scripture can apply to you today.
P for Prayer: 
This can be as simple as asking God to help you use this scripture, or it may be a greater insight on what He may be revealing to you.  Remember, prayer is a two way conversation, so be sure to listen to what God has to say!  Now, write it out.
Who will join me?  I have always struggled with keeping my time with God.   I’m a night owl and have always tried to spend time with God in the morning.   It’s hard for me to do.   Plus there are so many distractions it’s just hard to do on a consistent basis.   It’s 2008 so now is the time to start.  And I really want to fight for my worship.  I don’t want to give up.  I can’t. 
Let me know if you plan on doing this with me, and let me know how it’s going if you feel free to do so.   
This year, I plan on being more devoted to my personal time with God and being more open to others about my own struggles and life. I plan on being more dedicated to my family and time with my wife, being more focused on God’s mission for the church and being more consistent with worship planning.  I also want to taking Quinn fishing and and not argue with him so much.  Sometimes Quinn and I are like brothers.  It’s funny, but gets on Nikki’s nerves. 🙂
I really want to work out more and pray for the people God places on my heart as well as for lakeland and vine community.  Boy, this list is getting long.  ha.  🙂 Many blessings in 2008!
Psalm 28:7…HL
2 thoughts on “>Reading plan, Journaling

  1. >Hey bud. I’ll join you! Phillip and I started on the 1st with a goal of reading through by the end of the year. Our pastor handed out a reading list also, so we’ll probably be going about it a little differently than you will. But our end goal is the same!Thanks for the birthday wishes. You do realize what that means, right? Since you and I met on my 19th birthday, we have officially been friends for 14 years. Yay! And yes, I am old – but you are OLDER.=)

  2. >I’ve been doin Pastor Wayne’s life journal since July, it’s awesome. The whole S.O.A.P. thing got me in deeper than I’ve ever been.I’d love to check you guys out but I’m the drummer/worship director for Journey here in Lakeland….maybe I’ll get a day off someday

Leave a Reply

