>Songs We Sing @ Vine 4-5-09

>

(this is snoopy our newest family member)
Currently Listening to: “The Rose March” by: the Smashing Pumpkins
(This is a beautiful new acoustic sound from these guys. Very nice)
4-5-09
Palm Sunday
1. “untitled” by: Jess Kostella (walk in music)
Welcome 
Prayer & Call to Worship
2. “Hosanna” by: Paul Baloche
3. “Beautiful One” (Ch, Br, Ch only) by: Tim Hughes
4. “Jesus Messiah (in G) by: Chris Tomlin
5. “In The Shadow of the Glorious Cross” by: Sojourn Music
Passing the Peace (welcome each other as the family of God)
Offering – Pastor Craig
Guest Artist : Warren Barfield
Message – Tim Timmes (youth pastor)
6. “Wonderful Cross” by: Robbie Seay Band
Today was a crazy day.  Lot’s of encouraging things and lots of non encouraging things.   Actually only a few non encouraging things.   But those few really have stuck with me and I’ve had a hard time shacking them.    Yesterday everything went really well, no hiccups or mistakes.  I saw so many people engaging with God.  And I had so many people come up to me sharing many kind words.  All those people really encouraged me yesterday.  Made my heart smile.  We were also acoustic again and that has been a blessing.  I miss the full band but I also am enjoying the acoustic setting and hearing people sing more.    After church we had a huge party on the front lawn.  This weekend the whole church finished reading the bible in 90 days.  Well not everyone.  I stopped trying an long time ago.  Both my wife and I we able to do it.    Do I read my bible?  Yes, but I failed at trying to read it in 90 days 🙂  I don’t feel as bad since my wife the mega reading failed too.  (what did we fail at? nothing I know that 🙂 Anyways, that’s a rabbit trail. 🙂   The church was done with the 90 day thing.  It was also our normal on the Front lawn Palm Sunday Picnic/Easter egg hunt, bounce houses, face painting, balloon creatures day.  Our Preschool was also celebrating 10 years of ministry in our community yesterday.  They invited everyone who has ever been part of the ministry to come back yesterday.   So to add to the crazy we brought in Warren Barfield to add to the outreach element of the morning.  He was great to work with.  Very professional, kind, normal, funny, and he was very entertaining.  (I would suggest him to anyone for any event.  He was really good, and honestly I was never a fan of his music.  I am now though) All that on top of the services.   It was a busy busy morning.
The morning was stressful before the service even started.  We have burned out volunteers
and have had them like this for some time.  It’s been my frustration since I began working @ Vine.  Mostly because we put to much focus on all the details that that’s what is seen over our love for people.   Ministry is people.  Ministry is not lighting, video cameras, sound, music, bible placement, cross and candle placement, any of that stuff. (that stuffs not bad, but not why we gather to worship together)  It’s simply not all that stuff and much more.   I had a volunteer who is a good friend blow up on me yesterday because I asked for the Cross to be put on the floor for the morning because the Teaching pastor for the day wanted it on the floor so people could get to it at the end of his message. I didn’t ask in any weird or pushy way.  I was just informing my friend since he does lighting and placement of props for lighting.  It was important because we had painters as well in the room painting in the service yesterday and well it was a detail that was something he needed to know.  It was a very small detail.  But my friend blew up at me for not knowing that detail ahead of time.  It was not a little frustration.  It was a massive burst of emotion and storming off.  That’s crazy to me.  I hear his frustration and I’m not discounting his feeling.  I get it and I understand his frustration.  But placement of the cross?  Come on?  Would I like to poke blame at why this has happened.  Yes.  But that’s not fair nor right to post here so I won’t. I know it’s not my friends fault.  I’ll say that.  It’s sad and we’ll see how things pan out.   All will be well I know and I know growth comes from pain.  🙂  
There is also a decision that I have to make that is burdensome to me.  I’m going to have to make an uncomfortable decision about a singer that I’m pretty sure won’t go over very well.  It’s a tough situation.  But from a leader, husband, father, pastor it’s cut and dry to me and as with everyone else I’ve sought guidance from with the situation.   I know it won’t go over well.  So I’m praying and seeking God’s guidance still.  I strongly feel God’s lead in this decision.  Not my own.  So I feel peace in that.   I’m just sad for the hurt that will surely come from this and possible backlash of anger from others in the church.    God is good and faithful.  That I know. 🙂
Check out Fred McKinnon’s Sunday Set List’s blog.   I’m glad I did.  It has benefited me in many ways and still does.
2 thoughts on “>Songs We Sing @ Vine 4-5-09

  1. >HL – I hear your heart today. I know you know what I’m going to share with you but I want to affirm you.Ephesians 6:12 (New Living Translation)For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.These rulers see your heart also – and they don’t like where you’re going. They are using members of your church (who have no idea) to rip at you. Pray over them. Plead the Blood of Jesus for deliverance and protection for all of you…”And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28You have been called and you are listening. I pray His protection and His blessings fall on you and your wife this week. His name be praised!

  2. >Wow! The whole bible in 90 days. That is a lot of reading. I’ve encountered the same type of blow-up with a member over something that was very minor as well. I found out that he was going through a very difficult time in his personal life and although it was wrong for him to blow up, this helped understand him a little better. BTW: Snoopy is adorable.

Leave a Reply

