Paleo – Psoriasis – 70.3 Iron Man

Tea, Eggs and Bacon

Currently listening to: “This is Why We Fight” by: The Decemberists

I have been living the Paleo lifestyle for over a month now for 2 reasons.  To treat my psoriasis from the inside out and to help cure life long stomach issues.  I can tell you this that I’ve never felt this good before.  No more stomach issues, no more drops in energy and I just feel stronger and more awake.  For the first several weeks though I did seem to get pretty grumpy when I was ready to eat.  My son and wife will attest to that.  I was a pinecone I’ll admit.  But given the last two weeks I’d say  I’ve seemed to be more balanced and less of a butt.  Thankfully. Another positive I know my mom would be proud to know is I’m loving eating vegetables now. I can’t believe I just wrote that!  Out of the many cookbooks we have acquired Mark Sisson’s “The Primal Blueprint; Quick & Easy meals” and “The Food Lovers; Make it Paleo Cookbook”  have introduced us to a lot of amazing healthy meals!  I’m talking really good!  I’m even learning cook which is something I’ve always wanted to do.  I wanted to be wise by the time I was 40.  Nikki is already wise and well will be 40 before me.  I’m on my way to being wiser and healthier.  I got to say my family and friends have been a great support system which means more to me than they will ever know.

As far as my psoriasis I haven’t seen any drastic changes.  One of the things I didn’t take out fully since starting the Paleo lifestyle was alcohol.  I said I was gonna but I didn’t still having a few gluten free beers and ciders thinking it was ok.  Only to see and feel my psoriasis feel and look worse.  I let New Years be my last drop of alcohol.   I’m not gonna drink another drop till I see a difference in my Psoriasis.  And then well, I will continue to stay alcohol free so I can see it clear up.  I’m confident with no alcohol my skin condition will get better.  But only time and a healthy lifestyle will tell.

On Monday I started my 20 week training plan for my first 70.3 Ironman!  I haven’t ridden my bike or swam since my last triathlon last Sept.  With 1 week down I’m feeling pretty good and excited to continue the training and become a stronger, faster more complete Triathlete.

The Journey continues…

One thought on “Paleo – Psoriasis – 70.3 Iron Man

Leave a Reply

