Songs We Sing @ FPC Vine 3-4-12

Bob, Jess, Chad, Kenny, Nikki, HL, Stan

Bob, Jess, Chad, Kenny, Nikki, HL, Stan

Currently listening to: Burlap to Cashmere “Closer to the Edge”

1. “Savior’s Here” by: Kari Jobe

Welcome

2. “As It Is In Heaven” by: Matt Maher

3. “I Am Set Free” by: All Sons & Daughters

Message – Kenny Ellis

4. “Sing to the King” by: Billy Foote

5. “One Thing Remains” by: Jeremy Riddle

Offering

6. “Take My Life” (passion version)

Sundays come and go by so fast!  Sunday’s service ran over a bit and I think that threw some people. Other things bother me but that is not one of them 🙂 All and all it was a good morning.  I am again so grateful for the gang of musicians who come week in week out to help lead people to the cross. The heart of our volunteers amazes me.

Ok so a close friend reminded me how I seem to be in a constant battle on Sundays of trying to please everyone and how difficult that has to be.  That was a wake up call for me.  They were just just acknowling the stress level on any given Sunday morning.  So this morning I spent some time looking deeper into what makes me do what I do. I enjoy seeing others succeed, finding happiness and God’s purpose and call on their life. Wether that’s someone in the congregation, one of our musicians, or someone down at the pub. My heart finds joy in that.

But I realized this weekend that I don’t handle “life” well around me when I have not given enough attention to the battle that goes on within me from the moment I get up in the morning till the moment I go to sleep and sometimes even in my sleep.  Sounds deep and messed up I know and maybe it is but I’m not alone. We all have our fears, struggles, bad habits and so forth.  There are so many things that race to steal my attention and focus away from the constant true love of God.  I am realizing that I cannot get that time back. The time I have let slip away in my moods and reactions to the life around me.  I have spent to much time worrying, fighting with fear, and setting my eyes on distractions that keep me from reality and what matters.  I can’t heal if I don’t step into the healers presence and allow him to absorb all that is within me and refine me.  We are broken and beautiful people.  A new friend told me that while Kayaking on the ocean. That I was broken and beautiful.  Now to let the healer heal and create bright and beautiful things.

Luke 7:12-15

12 Now as He approached the gate of the city, behold, a dead man was being carried out, the only son of his mother, and she was a widow; and a sizable crowd from the city was with her. 13 And when the Lord saw her, He felt compassion for her, and said to her, “Do not weep.” 14 And He came up and touched the coffin; and the bearers came to a halt. And He said, “Young man, I say to you, arise!” 15 And the dead man sat up, and began to speak. And Jesus gave him back to his mother.

Sundaysetlists   –   Worshipcommunity   –   Youtube

One thought on “Songs We Sing @ FPC Vine 3-4-12

  1. HL,

    I love the idea of seeing ourselves as broken and beautiful (Gungor’s Beautiful Things resonates with me). And the closing line of Crowder’s Wholly Yours – “I am filled with earth and dirt ….and You!”

    Isn’t it amazing that God invites us into this journey!

    TT

Leave a Reply

